

# **GOVERNMENT GAZETTE**

### **OF THE**

## REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA

N\$0.94

WINDHOEK - 19 March 1999

No. 2070

#### **CONTENTS**

Page

#### **PROCLAMATION**

1

## **Proclamation**

by the

#### PRESIDENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA

No. 15

1999

# ANNOUNCEMENT IN TERMS OF ARTICLE 32(8) OF THE NAMIBIAN CONSTITUTION OF THE APPOINTMENT OF THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION

In terms of sub-article (8) of Article 32 of the Namibian Constitution, I hereby announce that I have, under the powers vested in me by sub-article (3)(i)(ee) of that Article and section 5 of the Electoral Act, 1992 (Act No. 24 of 1992), with the approval of the National Assembly by resolution adopted on 24 February 1999, appointed -

- (a) for a period of six months, the Honourable Mr Justice S. Mtambanengwe as chairperson of the Electoral Commission; and
- (b) for a period of 12 months -
  - (i) Dr. B.H. Sandelowski;
  - (ii) Bishop J.H. Kauluma;

1

- (iii) Ms. I. Murangi; and
- (iv) Mr. V.L. Tonchi,

*,*:

as the other members of the Electoral Commission.

Given under my Hand and the Seal of the Republic of Namibia at Windhoek this 15th day of March, One Thousand Nine Hundred and Ninety-nine.

SAM NUJOMA
President
BY ORDER OF THE PRESIDENT-IN-CABINET